isle’ove cliffs of moher

It’s now Tuesday on our whistle-stop tour of Ireland and we dedicated this day to one of Ireland’s best known tourist attractions: the Cliffs of Moher. Apparently, I’m dedicating a blog post to it, too.

This was the real start to our road trip. Whilst the journey from Dublin to Galway had been largely motorway-concentrated, our journey from County Galway to County Clare was a lot more interesting. Here I am with a castle, somewhere on that route.

castle

Shortly before we arrived at the cliffs, we stopped at Doolin, a coastal village which is renowned for its traditional music offerings. It’s cute; there are colourful houses and cool-looking cafés and shops. I went into one local shop and fell in love with some fingerless arm gloves. Feeling quite smug at how much I was embracing the concept of ‘shop local’, I struck up a conversation with the owner.

‘So, what’s the story behind these gloves?’ I asked, as I entered my pin number to pay.

‘Oh we support a project in Nepal’, was the response. “All the gloves were made there”.

Nepal? I mean, that’s great that you’re supporting Nepal, but what about my locally-sourced, Irish sheep-wool gloves?!

image1

image

Similar to when we had arrived at the Aran islands the previous day, the weather at the Cliffs of Moher looked a bit dubious as we pulled into the car park. Do we want to do this again? I thought to myself, still scarred from my drenching the day before. Fortunately for us, Ireland has done well to cater for the dubious tourist, and we debated our next move over a warm bowl of soup in the sizeable shop/museum/cafe complex, alongside many other hesitant tourists. What was highlighted to me during our week bopping around Ireland is that regardless of the weather, just like us, people had planned their trips and had no choice but to pursue their plans or see their money go to waste. On our Aran island adventure, Viv had been surprised at how few people there were on the island. Contrastingly, I had been surprised at how many people had chosen that day to come to the island; Guys, it’s raining, this isn’t fun!

image15

So what’s the big deal with the Cliffs of Moher? Well firstly, everyone loves a cliff face, and when these cliffs stretch along the Atlantic coast for 5 miles (8 kilometres), it’s a pretty cool sight. We made the mistake of walking in the wrong direction initially and wondered what all the fuss was about.

“I wonder why all those people have walked the other way”, I asked out loud.

Don’t worry, we got there eventually. And I have to say, even though it was a very bleak, cloudy and windy day in Ireland, the view was beautiful.

cliffs-of-moher

Cliffs of Moher, tick. Where to next, driver? Bye bye County Clare; hello briefly to you County Limerick; good evening county Kerry, and the tourist capital of Ireland, Killarney.

Leave a Reply

